Tamil Nadu sends e-mobility roadmap to NGT, shortlists 6 cities for Charging Stations

The Tamil Nadu government has informed the National Green Tribunal (NGT) about its strategy to promote electric mobility in the state, under which it will set up EV charging stations in six major cities, which are Coimbatore, Chennai, Madurai, Tiruchi, Salem and Tirunelveli.

The state government has claimed that it will set up EV charging stations in the government office parking slots, on NHAI and state highways as well.

Besides, the Tamil Nadu government has also announced that it will give 100% exemptions on electricity tax to the EV related industries in the state, till 31st December 2025. Also, these industries will receive a stamp duty exemption for the purchase of land to set up factories.

The state government plans to promote the conversion of all autorickshaws and taxis to EVs in the aforementioned six cities within 10 years. Also, it plans to introduce 1,000 electric buses every year. To promote the e-mobility in the state, private operators and educational institutions will be encouraged to adopt EVs.

As the Tamil Nadu government has said to NGT, it aims to attract Rs 50,000 core investment in the state’s entire EV economy. The state has already announced its EV policy in September 2019, which is claimed to have prompted many new companies to start manufacturing and dealing with e-vehicles.

According to the EV policy announced by the state government, there will be an exclusive EV park which will be built across 300 acres of land. The companies that will set up their plants in this EV park will receive benefits like 100% GST reimbursement and 50% capital subsidy.

As per the Tamil Nadu government’s EV policy, the state seeks to make itself as the hub of electric vehicles and EV component manufacturing units including battery and charging infrastructure.